St Andrew's Parish Church

St Andrew's Church has stood at the heart of Rugby since the 14th century. All that now remains of the earlier church is the West Tower. In 1879, the newly rebuilt church was dedicated by the Bishop of Worcester. The present church was completed in 1899 with the addition of the North East Tower. St Andrew's is unique in having two sets of bells hung for change ringing. The older set of five bells are hung in the West Tower which dates from about 1350. These bells, tuned in the key of A, were cast in 1711 by Joseph Smith of Edgbaston. They are hung in a frame which dates from about 1620. In 1929 they were rehung by John Taylor and Co. of Loughborough. The North East Tower was built in 1895 as the final stage of the rebuilding of the church by William Butterfield. It contains 8 bells tuned in the key of D and cast by Mears and Stainbank of the Whitechapel Foundry. In 1955 they were lowered by 17 feet as there was movement in the tower, and in 1992 they were rehung to make ringing easier. Today our bells sound out across the town, calling people to worship, marking weddings and funerals and celebrating important occasions in the life of the town.
No dogs allowed
01788 565 609
Link will reload this page if no website is available.